50 FREE Things to do in MK

To celebrate MK50, we’ve compiled a list of 50 free things to do around the city in 2017.  See how many you can tick off, and don’t forget to tweet your photos using the hashtag #MK50!

1.    Go for a bike ride on a Heritage Cycle Trail – download your map at from: www.destinationmiltonkeynes.co.uk

2.    Stroll along the Grand Union Canal to see the giant floating Exbury Egg. www.exburyeggtour.com

3.    Have a picnic at a park you’ve never visited.  Find parks at http://www.theparkstrust.com/parks/map

4.    Try singing with a local choir – the MK Rock Choir has a free taster session.  www.rockchoir.com  

5.    Challenge someone to a game of open air table tennis, with tables around MK.  www.pingengland.co.uk/miltonkeynes

6.    Roll down Campbell Park Hill (looking at the Beacon artwork by Lilian Lijn before you roll).  http://www.theparkstrust.com/parks/campbell-park

7.    Take a selfie with the concrete cows http://www.theparkstrust.com/parks/loughton-valley-park

8.    Visit Cowper’s Alcove in Weston Underwood and sing Amazing Grace  www.cowperandnewtonmuseum.org.uk/amazing-grace

9.    Explore one of our older town centres and learn about its heritage www.discovermiltonkeynes.co.uk/historic-towns--villages

10.    Visit Milton Keynes Arts Centre and see exhibitions, listed buildings and try a workshop https://www.miltonkeynesartscentre.org/

11.    Explore and learn about the natural history and wildlife of MK http://mknhs.org.uk/wildlife-sites-2/

12.    Learn an instrument – Wolverton and Bradwell brass bands offer free tuition.  www.wolvertontownband.org.uk www.bradwellband.co.uk

13.    Be part of a parade or carnival – from West Bletchley Carnival to the Wolverton Lantern Parade - follow @mkculture on Twitter for details.

14.    Solve The Labyrinth at Willen Lake. http://www.theparkstrust.com/parks/willen-lake-north

15.    Visit Bradwell Windmill and see grain being milled into flour.  www.miltonkeynesmuseum.org.uk has details of open days.

16.    Take a picnic to our beautiful Tree Cathedral and see if you can identify all the different trees.  http://www.theparkstrust.com/parks/tree-cathedral

17.    Grab your smartphone and find (or plant!) treasure at a geo-cache site www.geocaching.com/play

18.    Follow the speaking art trail around Central MK.  Download the MK Public Art Trail for Apple or Android

19.    Visit the MK Dons Stadium and see the faces on the public art Ring of Steel.  www.mkdons.com

20.    Watch an extreme sport such as BMX racing. www.mkbmx.com

21.    Become a volunteer and tend to the Wolverton Secret Garden www.wolvertonsecretgarden.co.uk

22.    Have a go at Mountain Biking at Aspley Woods. http://woburnbiketrails.co.uk/cycle-trails/aspley-woods-cycle-trails/

23.    Explore your local library. www.milton-keynes.gov.uk/libraries/library-news-and-events

24.    Experience live music in Stony Stratford. http://www.stonystratford.gov.uk/Events/Events_Index

25.    Experience a festival – Folk on the Green, Tog Fest, MK Feast, Street Art Festival and many others are free – follow @MKCulture on Twitter for details

26.    Visit Bradwell Abbey and walk up to Bancroft Roman Villa.  www.mkcdc.org.uk/bradwell-abbey

27.    Make a new friend at one of MK’s Health Walks.  https://www.walkingforhealth.org.uk/walkfinder/milton-keynes-health-walks

28.    Visit Bletchley Park on one of their free entry days.  www.bletchleypark.org.uk

29.    Follow the public artwork, the Ashland Water Serpent, at Ashland Lakes.  www.theparkstrust.com/parks/ashland

30.    Catch the Frog Clock display at intu, showing every half an hour.  www.intu.co.uk/miltonkeynes  

31.    Expand your mind at the OU on the Public Art Walk.  www.open.ac.uk/about/estates/arttheou/sculpture-walk

32.    Visit the Bloomer, replica steam train and Hayes Boat in the car park of MK Museum.  www.miltonkeynesmuseum.org.uk

33.    Have a moment of contemplation at the MK Rose.  www.theparkstrust.com/mk-rose

34.    Visit the historic Church of St. Lawrence in Broughton. www.facebook.com/FriendsofStLawrence

35.    Start an art blog to review the 200+ pieces of public art in MK.  www.milton-keynes.gov.uk/leisure-tourism-and-culture

36.    Get fit in a natural outdoor setting at MK Green Gym.  www.miltonkeynesgreengym.co.uk

37.    Visit the Wolverton Community Orchard for apple pressing day, and help to make juice.  www.facebook.com/mixedfruitorchard

38.    See experimental art at an MK Gallery Scratch Night.  www.mkgallery.org   

39.    Take part in an MK Park Run.  www.parkrun.org.uk/miltonkeynes

40.    Be a volunteer and help to look after the Grand Union Canal www.canalrivertrust.org.uk/volunteer

41.    Visit one of MK’s five Farmers’ Market.  www.mkfoodrevolution.org/markets

42.    Discover Korfball – a bit like basketball and a bit like netball!  www.mklakers.co.uk

43.    Become a supporter of the Secklow Hundred MK Dragon Boat Team.  www.secklow.com

44.    Complete the Discovering MK 50 Golden Landmarks Trail (from end May 2017)

45.    Have an adventure at Howe Park Wood.  www.the parkstrust.com/parks/howe-park-wood  

46.    Join a book club – or start your own.  www.milton-keynes.gov.uk/libraries

47.    Learn about the past at MK Archaeology Day.  www.milton-keynes.gov.uk/planning-and-building/conservation-and-archaeology

48.    Remember, remember to take a fantastic photo of MK’s annual fireworks in Campbell Park.  www.theparkstrust.com/whats-on

49.    Cheer on the Dragon Boats at the MK Dragon Boat Festival in June.  www.dragonboatfestivals.co.uk

50.    Take as stroll along Caldecotte Brook that winds its way through Browns Wood, Walnut Tree and down to Caldecotte Lake.